Cyril Ramaphosa’s New Cabinet – Who’s In, Who’s Out

President Cyril Ramaphosa announced his first cabinet reshuffle on Monday night – announcing sweeping changes to the team he’d inherited from his deposed predecessor Jacob Zuma. (Who, incidentally, made 11 changes to his cabinet during his tenure, including two in 2017.) The Daily Vox gives you the breakdown of which ministers are out, which are new, and which have been shown the door. (This list is based on Zuma’s last cabinet, so some “new” ministers are in fact returning from earlier reshuffles.)

The new cabinet was not without its surprises, with controversial ministers like Bathabile Dlamini, Malusi Gigaba and Nomvula Mokonyane somehow surviving the reshuffle, even as others like Mosebenzi Zwane and Des van Rooyen not making the cut. Ramaphosa’s ANC conference rival Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma made it in, as did Pravin Gordhan and Nhlanhla Nene, both of whom were unceremoniously sacked by Zuma as finance ministers.


David Mabuza – Deputy president

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma – Presidency: planning, monitoring and evaluation

Zweli Mkhize – Cooperative governance and traditional affairs

Gwede Mantashe – Mineral resources

Bheki Cele – Police (promoted from deputy minister)

Pravin Gordhan – Public enterprises

Nomaindia Mfeketo – Human settlements (promoted from deputy minister)

Nhlanhla Nene – Finance

Derek Hanekom – Tourism

Blade Nzimande – Transport



Malusi Gigaba – Home affairs

Jeff Radebe – Energy

Nomvula Mokonyane – Communications

Naledi Pandor – Higher education and training

Thulas Nxesi – Public works

Maite Nkoana-Mashabane – Rural development and land reform

Lindiwe Sisulu – International relations and cooperation

Bathabile Dlamini – Presidency: women

Susan Shabangu – Socal development

Dipuo Letsatsi-Dube – State security

Ayanda Dlodlo – Public service and administration

Tokozile Xasa – Tourism

Gugile Nkwinti – Water and sanitation

Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane – Science and technology



Senzeni Zokwana – Agriculture, forestry and fisheries

Nathi Mthethwa – Arts and culture

Angie Motshekga – basic education

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula – Defence and military veterans

Edna Molewa – Environmental affairs

Aaron Motsoaledi – Health

Michael Masutha – Justice and correctional services

Labour – Mildred Oliphant

Lindiwe Zulu – Small business development

Telecommunications and postal service – Siyabonga Cwele

Rob Davies – Trade and industry


Lynne Brown

Des van Rooyen

Mosebenzi Zwane

Joe Maswanganyi

Fikile Mbalula

Hlengiwe Mkhize

Bongani Bongo­

Nathi Nhleko

Faith Muthambi

David Mahlobo

Editor’s Note: The date of the reshuffle has been corrected to Monday night. David Mahlobo has been added to the list of axed ministers. 

Featured image by Elmond Jiyane, GCIS

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.