All The Parties Contesting The 2019 Elections

On March 29, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) published the names of all the candidates nominated by political parties. The names are on the IEC website. People have until April 2 to object to any of the people on the list. This marked the latest developments as South Africa moves closer to the May 8 election.

UPDATE: During a media briefing on April 9, the IEC announced they had received 52 objections against candidates nominated for the elections. Only one objection against a Pan-Africanist Congress candidate was upheld.

On March 20, political parties contesting the 2019 National Elections gathered to sign the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) code of conduct. This ceremony marked a public commitment by political parties to uphold the provisions and the purpose of the Code Conduct. During the ceremony there was a ballot draw to decide the position of parties on the ballot paper. This was to ensure there isn’t any confusion and there is fairness with regards to how the parties line up. Possible confusions like similar party names, colours and logos are taken into consideration in the ordering process.

Before parties could take part in the ceremony, parties had a March 13 deadline to pay a deposit to secure their place on the national and provincial elections ballots.

Parties contesting both national and provincial elections are required to pay a deposit of R200,000 for the national ballot and R45,000 for each provincial ballot. The deposit is refunded in full to parties which win at least one seat in each legislature they contest. The deposits of parties which fail to secure a seat are forfeited to the National Revenue Fund, the IEC website explains.

These are the parties confirmed to be on the national ballot this year:

  1. African National Congress
  2. Democratic Alliance
  3. Economic Freedom Fighters
  4. African Security Congress
  5. African Alliance of Social Democrats
  6. African Christian Democratic Party
  7. African Congress of Democrats
  8. African Content Movement
  9. African Covenant
  10. African Democratic Change
  11. African Independent Congress
  12. African Renaissance Unity Party
  13. African Transformation Movement
  14. Agang South Africa
  15. Al Jama-ah
  16. Alliance for Transformation for All
  17. Azanian People’s Organisation
  18. African People’s Convention
  19. Better Residents Association
  20. Black First Land First
  21. Capitalist Party of South Africa
  22. Christian Political Movement
  23. Compatriots of South Africa
  24. Congress of the People
  25. Democratic Liberal Congress
  26. Economic Emancipation Forum
  27. Forum for Service Delivery
  28. Free Democrats
  29. Front National
  30. GOOD
  31. Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa
  32. Inkatha Freedom Party
  33. International Revelation Congress
  34. Land Party
  35. Minority Front
  36. National Freedom Party
  37. National People’s Ambassadors
  38. National People’s Front
  39. Pan Africanist Congress of Azania
  40. Patriotic Alliance
  41. People’s Revolutionary Movement
  42. Power of Africans Unity
  43. Socialist Revolutionary Workers Party
  44. South African Maintenance and Estate Beneficiaries Association
  45. South African National Congress of Traditional Authorities
  46. United Democratic Movement
  47. Vryheid Front +
  48. Women Forward

When South Africans go into the voting booth on May 8, this is the ballot where votes will be placed.

The Daily Vox team has been compiling profiles on political parties competing in the elections. Here is the current list – which will be updated all the time.

Additional reporting by Shaazia Ebrahim.

Featured image via Flickr